Intro to Perspective Course Launch with Mark Henson

[et_pb_section bb_built="1" admin_label="section"][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type="1_2"][et_pb_countdown_timer date_time="2017-12-06 20:00" background_layout="light" use_background_color="off" numbers_font_size="28px" numbers_line_height="28px" _builder_version="3.0.89" /][et_pb_text admin_label="International Times (text)" background_layout="light" text_orientation="center" use_border_color="off" border_color="#ffffff" border_style="solid" _builder_version="3.0.89" module_alignment="center" border_color_all="#ffffff" border_style_all="solid"] 3pm HAST, 5pm PST, 8pm EST or the next day: 1am GMT (London) 6:30am IST (India), 12:00pm AEST (Australia) [groups_non_member group="Registered, Members"] [/groups_non_member] [/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type="1_2"][et_pb_text admin_label="Join

MORE DETAIL

Start

December 5, 2017 - 8:00 pm US Eastern

End

December 5, 2017 - 9:00 pm

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

3pm HAST, 5pm PST, 8pm EST
or the next day:
1am GMT (London)
6:30am IST (India), 12:00pm AEST (Australia)

Academy-Sessions-Archive-MINI

Welcome Everyone!

Join LIVE at 8pm EST

*new attendees download and install Zoom
click button, install, then click button again

Register for the Course

Course opens at 9pm EST December 5th

Access All Events: Log In or Join

vaa_member_badge-02You must be logged in as an Academy Member to join other LIVE Interviews or ARTJAMs or watch event recordings.

Choose your own monthly donation, and Become a Member to get access to over 12 previous INTERVIEWS, and join us for LIVE ARTJAMs with your favorite artists.

Become a Member

Join us for the launch of Intro to Perspective, a course by visionary artist and renowned painter Mark Henson in the Visionary Arts Academy at 8pm EST on Tuesday December 5th 2017!

Mark Henson’s exquisite use of perspective in his artwork creates a strong sense of realism even when dealing with deeply visionary states of conflict and transformation, diversity and sensuality. His use of perspective ranges from odd “fish-eye” distortions to extremely precise two and three point perspectives. As a master of creating environments in his art, he is the perfect guide for a course on perspective in the Visionary Arts Academy.

“I believe that art can have the ability to catalyze social and cultural changes. Art has the magical power to evoke emotional as well as intellectual thinking. Realizing this, my desire as an artist is to create compelling images of beauty and power that serve to promote our Conscious Evolution as human beings, and to show us how to live in a peaceful world. To this end I like to explore and present images with themes of Awakening Consciousness, Divine Sexuality, Political Realities and Living in Harmony with Nature.”

Mark Henson

The oil paintings of California artist Mark Henson offer a rare combination of refreshingly original imagery, technical proficiency, and competent craftsmanship. Henson has produced several fabulous political commentaries rich in social meaning.  These pictures would be considered satirical cartoons if not executed with such a high degree of skill. March of Progress (1993) evinces environmental concerns.  Land of the Free, Home of the Brave (1995) includes a corrupt businessman reminiscent of a capitalist out of a Diego Rivera mural.  Fast Food Chain (1997) lampoons the mass consumer culture.  Sharing the Wealth (2000) presents a hilarious hyperbole of economic disparity.

Henson’s most prevalent theme is the tasteful and wholesome portrayal of man and woman locked in amorous embrace.  These heterosexual copulations occur in bucolic natural settings, do not entail a pornographic focus on genitalia, and offer a “sex positive” perspective that transcends the decadent approach to sexuality found in mainstream media.

We can hope that in the future Henson will continue to inspire us with transcendental imagery and entertain us with wry political satire.

-Excerpts from “Spiral Art of Mark Henson” By Reid Stuart