In the Studio: Vibrata Chromodoris

[et_pb_section admin_label="section"][et_pb_row admin_label="Row"][et_pb_column type="1_2"][et_pb_countdown_timer admin_label="Countdown Timer" date_time="2017-11-21 18:00" background_layout="light" use_background_color="off" background_color="#7EBEC5" numbers_font_size="28px" numbers_line_height="28px"] [/et_pb_countdown_timer][et_pb_text admin_label="International Times (text)" background_layout="light" text_orientation="center" use_border_color="off" border_color="#ffffff" border_style="solid"] 1pm HAST, 3pm PST, 6pm EST, 11pm GMT or the next day: 4:30am IST (India), 10:00am AEST (Australia) [groups_non_member group="Registered, Members"] [/groups_non_member] [/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type="1_2"][et_pb_text admin_label="Join Event Buttons inside

MORE DETAIL

Start

November 21, 2017 - 6:00 pm US Eastern

End

November 21, 2017 - 8:00 pm

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

1pm HAST, 3pm PST, 6pm EST, 11pm GMT
or the next day:
4:30am IST (India), 10:00am AEST (Australia)

Academy-Sessions-Archive-MINI

Members Only: Log In or Join

vaa_member_badge-02You must be logged in as an Academy Member to join the LIVE Interview or ARTJAM or watch event recordings.

Choose your own monthly donation, and Become a Member to get access to over 12 previous INTERVIEWS, and join us for LIVE ARTJAMs with your favorite artists.

Become a Member

Join us In the Studio for this special live INTERVIEW and ARTJAM with Vibrata Chromodoris in the Visionary Arts Academy at 6pm EST on Tuesday November 21st 2017!

Originally from Ontario, Canada, Vibrata’s intermedia paintings, installations and digital work have been seen in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Seattle, New York, Chicago and as far away as Turkey, Portugal and Japan.

Vibrata was given her name during a meditation in 1998. Along with the name she was shown a vision of waves of energy, undulating and expanding infinitely in all directions as a continuum.

Her images include elements of symmetry and rhythmic patterning, geometry and the use of beguiling perceptual distortions. She is an intermedia artist, seamlessly blending computer design with traditional acrylic-on-canvas techniques. Her recent 3D work incorporates the use of a CNC router with wood and plastics.

“I use a language of reflections and mirroring; reducing things to their fundamental structures; Mathematical patterns, patterns in biology, in atoms under a microscope; Patterns in ancients architecture, fabrics, stonework; Musical patterns, mythological patterns, language patterns… I love to play with the question of whether patterns are there for us to perceive or created through the act of perceiving. It’s a way to understand a unified field of reality.”

Vibrata is a thirteen-time veteran of the Burning Man festival, held every year in Nevada, participating with her own art installations and contributing to the Connexus Cathedral and Entheon Village in 2006, the Institute in 2011 and 2012 and Nexus in 2013. In recent years she has joined the vanguard helping to bridge the gap between the artist and viewer by painting live at multimedia events. As a lecturer and presenter, Vibrata was featured at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco for the Mind States conference, at CoSM gallery in NYC in 2005 and Bicycle Day in San Francisco in 2012. She has been featured in such publications as the ENTHEOGEN REVIEW, the COSM JOURNAL OF VISIONARY CULTURE, and the ELFINTOME VISIONARY ARTS COLLECTIVE CATALOGUES.