In the Studio: Carrie Ann Baade

[et_pb_section bb_built="1" admin_label="section"][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type="1_2"][et_pb_countdown_timer date_time="2018-07-19 19:00" background_layout="light" use_background_color="off" numbers_font_size="28px" numbers_line_height="28px" _builder_version="3.0.89" /][et_pb_text admin_label="International Times (text)" background_layout="light" text_orientation="center" use_border_color="off" border_color="#ffffff" border_style="solid" _builder_version="3.0.89" module_alignment="center" border_color_all="#ffffff" border_style_all="solid"] 1pm HAST, 4pm PDT, 7pm EDT 11pm UTC (12am BST London) or the next day: 4:30am IST (India), 9:00pm AEST (Australia) [groups_non_member group="Registered, Members"] [/groups_non_member] [/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column

MORE DETAIL

Start

July 19, 2018 - 7:00 pm US Eastern

End

July 19, 2018 - 9:00 pm

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

1pm HAST, 4pm PDT, 7pm EDT
11pm UTC (12am BST London)
or the next day:
4:30am IST (India), 9:00pm AEST (Australia)

Academy-Sessions-Archive-MINI

Members Only: Log In or Join

vaa_member_badge-02You must be logged in as an Academy Member to join the LIVE Interview or ARTJAM or watch event recordings.

Choose your own monthly donation, and Become a Member to get access to over 12 previous INTERVIEWS, and join us for LIVE ARTJAMs with your favorite artists.

Become a Member

Join us In the Studio for this special live INTERVIEW and ARTJAM with Carrie Ann Baade in the Visionary Arts Academy, Thursday, July 19th 2018!

Carrie Ann Baade (born 1974 in Louisiana) is a contemporary painter whose work quotes from, interacts with, and deeply relates to art history.  She paints in dialogue with relevant masterpieces from Modern period to antiquity, in order to reclaim them in a surreal narrative that is simultaneously biographical.

Her work has been exhibited in museums and galleries nationally and internationally, including the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art and solo exhibitions at the Delaware Contemporary, Billy Shire Fine Arts in Los Angeles, the Ningbo Art Museum in China, and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Jacksonville, Florida.

“I paint linking the power of historical masterworks with my own experience as a contemporary artist. By using this fragmentary “bone yard” of painting with reverence, I am a scavenger salvaging lost aesthetics. My art has been an attempt to reconcile the irreconcilable, resulting in an exploitation of fragmentation found in collage; I think of myself as a kind of Dr. Frankenstein attempting to piece together the sublime.”

 ~ Carrie Ann Baade